Please see the current Handbook for detailed information on awards

Horatio Hughes Memorial Scholarship

Established in memory of Dr. Horatio Hughes, class of 1905, and distinguished professor of chemistry and physics. It may be used to recruit exemplary freshman, but generally will be awarded to students  already in the program. 

Bob Dukes Scholarship for incoming astrophysics majors

Established by Professor Emeritus Bob Dukes.  It is meant to attract strong, aspiring astrophysicists to the department. It may go to a current student if there are no suitable incoming student.

Harry E. Ricker, Jr. Endowed Award

Established by Dr. Harry E. Ricker, Jr., class of 1965.  The Ricker award  will be used to assist a rising sophomore, junior, or senior major in physics. The student must have a strong academic record and demonstrate the need for financial aid. Recipients will be selected by the Department. The award will be presented at the College's annual graduation weekend Awards Ceremony.

J. Fred Watts Scholarship

The J. Fred Watts Scholarship may be awarded annually to a major who is pursuing teaching certification in physics or astronomy.  Applicants must submit a one-page typed essay that outlines their educational and professional goals and means of attaining those goals.  Essays must be submitted to the Chair of the Department.  The scholarship is renewable; however, the student must re-apply for the scholarship and submit a revised essay that outlines what actions he or she has taken to achieve the goals.